Imperfect.

I’m the bend in a project folder.
I’m the blur in a taken photograph.
I’m the break in a tree branch.
I’m the burn in a cooked meal.
I’m the crack in a handmade pot.
I’m the crook in a drawn line.
I’m the crumple in an ironed shirt.
I’m the hole in an antique bag.
I’m the loose thread in a knitted scarf.
I’m the misplaced screw in a metal hinge.
I’m the rip in a sheet of paper.
I’m the scar in a soft skin.
I’m the scratch in a shiny glass.
I’m the stain in a cotton dress.
I’m the wrong in written words.

I’m the imperfect in perfect.
I’m the small damage not usually noticed.
But I can make a difference in life.

“Like a small boat
On the ocean
Sending big waves
Into motion
Like how a single word
Can make a heart open
I might only have one match
But I can make an explosion.”
-Fight Song, Rachel Platten

 

Leave a Reply

